CFD Online URL
[Sponsors]
Home > Events > Event Record #17112

CFD Events Calendar, Event Record #17112

Engineering Webinar: Best Practices for Forced Convection Simulations, Part 2
This web seminar is the second in a two-part series detailing the simulation of forced convection electronic systems using STAR-CCM+. Best practices for each step in the process will be discussed during the series.
Date: February 21, 2013
Location: http://www2.cd-adapco.com/l/14592/2012-12-17/34qld
Contact Email: brigid.blaschak@cd-adapco.com
Organizer: CD-adapco
Application Areas: Electronics Cooling
Special Fields: CAD/CFD Integration
Softwares: STAR CCM+
Type of Event: Online Event, International
 
Description:

Best Practices for Forced Convection Simulations, Part 2

February 21, 2013 (This event is available in multiple time zones and will be conducted in English)

  • 10am (London) • 11am (Berlin/Paris) • 3:30pm (Bangalore) > Register
  • 10am (Los Angeles) • 1pm (New York) > Register

The most common method for cooling electronics assemblies is best classified as forced convection cooling. The alternative classifications are natural convection (passive) cooling and radiative cooling (such as used in space-based applications). Forced convection cooling typically involves air being moved through a system by a fan, and the air removes the heat from the system via convection.

This web seminar is the second in a two-part series detailing the simulation of forced convection electronic systems using STAR-CCM+. Best practices for each step in the process will be discussed during the series; Part 2 will address:

  • Simulations settings, including solver choices
  • Convergence criteria
  • Viewing important results (in unique ways)
  • Sanity checks (including expected variations due to changes such as altitude variations)
Specific examples will be used to visualize and demonstrate the steps.

This seminar is targeted to engineers and designers either looking at or already performing thermal simulations of electronics assemblies.

This webinar is free, but registration is required to obtain log-in credentials
10am (London) • 11am (Berlin/Paris) • 3:30pm (Bangalore) > Register
10am (Los Angeles) • 1pm (New York) > Register

 
Event record first posted on January 14, 2013, last modified on January 20, 2013

[Back to Events Calendar Front Page]