CFD Online URL
[Sponsors]
Home > Forums > ANSYS Meshing & Geometry

[ANSYS Meshing] Can I use ANSYS Meshing for manual meshing?

Register Blogs Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By everdimension

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old   June 8, 2012, 09:52
Default Can I use ANSYS Meshing for manual meshing?

Anna
Kirjain is on a distinguished road
Hello everyone and sorry to bother you with a stupid question but I am a complete beginner with ANSYS and would need a bit of help to get started. I've noticed that most of you here use external meshing software like Gambit and what-have-you but I was wondering whether one could use the ANSYS Meshing tool for detailed manual meshing as well (defining nodes and building the mesh block by block etc.). I've had a quick look at the software but it only seems to let me select a method and vary a few things but after that everything is automatic. Is there a way around that or should I just use another programme for meshing? I am using ANSYS Workbench (with DM, Meshing and Fluent) as they should work together seamlessly so of course it would be best to find a way to get round all automatic meshing tools in ANSYS Meshing and not just find a new programme to do the trick.

Cheers.
Kirjain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   June 8, 2012, 10:16

everdimension is on a distinguished road
Well, the choice depends on what kind of geometry you have and if you really need to be able to control every step of the mesh creation. If so, ICEM is your choice.

But Ansys Meshing is really powerful software and allows you mesh some very complex geometry. Look here, for example http://tinyurl.com/7q3lrm4
And if ansys meshing is not as flexible as icem it still allows you create a pretty good mesh pretty fast. And it does allow you to apply local inflation, local edge/face/body sizing and much more. This might be enough.