Home > Forums > ANSYS Meshing & Geometry

[ANSYS Meshing] Meshing a t-pipe in Ansys Meshing

Register Blogs Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old   August 6, 2012, 02:03
Default Meshing a t-pipe in Ansys Meshing

Anna
Kirjain is on a distinguished road
I would need help with meshing a simple t-pipe with ANSYS Meshing. I have split both the arm and the mainline into o-grid configurations and applied symmetry along the zy-plane (see figure). My problem is that I can't use the sweep method on all the parts created (the uppermost part of the mainline cannot be sweeped as it's connected to the arm) and I don't know how to get around this problem. I'm quite new to meshing in general and don't yet know too much so please be patient wit my stupid questions!
What would be the best way out of this problem? Can I define the arm and the mainline as different bodies (forming two parts in DM) or will this mess up the connection between the meshes? Or would a non-conformal mesh do the trick and if so, how would I go about creating one?

Another thing I would like to ask is related to post processing and grid visualisations. Is there any way (either in Ansys Meshing or in FLUENT) I could get out clear good images of the computational mesh, without the Ansys logo hanging about or the horrible colour-gradient background looming behind the body? I'm looking for something simple: black and white images of the surface mesh and a few figures of the inner mesh maybe.

Cheers for helping me out!

Anna
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tpipe.jpg (18.6 KB, 87 views)
Kirjain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   August 6, 2012, 02:43

Alex
flotus1 will become famous soon enoughflotus1 will become famous soon enough
About the appearance isues:

In workbench, click on "tools -> "options" and go to the "appearance" tab.
Here you can set the backgraund to "solid" and change the colour.