CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   ANSYS Meshing & Geometry (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/ansys-meshing/)
-   -   [ICEM] Edit .msh file (Fluent) in ICEM CFD (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/ansys-meshing/113152-edit-msh-file-fluent-icem-cfd.html)

Keizers February 13, 2013 13:30

Edit .msh file (Fluent) in ICEM CFD

Hi everyone,

I have limited experience with ICEM, and I am trying to do something that I thought was not too ambitious but after hours of looking online and trying things, I don't know if it can be done at all.

I have a ".msh" file from a Fluent tutorial, and I just need to modify it slightly to check something else (sort of developing what the tutorial covers).

I open the mesh file in ICEM (by File>Import Mesh>From Fluent). I then use the Edit Mesh tools as needed. No problems there.

The next step is where I get stuck. I cannot find a way to save it as a .msh file. I have read that you normally right-click on pre-mesh, convert to unstructured (or alternatively File>Mesh>Load from blocking) and then go to the output tab, select Fluent in the first tab, and then go to the 4th tab to save it as .msh.

Because I have imported it from the original .msh file, if I try to click "Load from blocking", it gives me the message "no blocking loaded". I do not have a pre-mesh in the tree view either. All it shows is a green tick on Parts and a grey tick on Mesh. Inside mesh there is a green tick on Subsets, no tick on Lines, and a green tick on Shells (and further inside Shells, there is a green tick on Quads).

Is there any way to obtain a .msh from my modified .msh? Am I missing any steps?

Many many thanks,

K

PS: I am using ICEM CFD 14.0
PSS: Additionally, apologies if this is not the place to post this thread, or if this has already been asked, I couldn't find anything around, but I might have missed it.

diamondx February 13, 2013 20:38