CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   ANSYS Meshing & Geometry (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/ansys-meshing/)
-   -   ICEM hexa meshing - need help!! (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/ansys-meshing/62912-icem-hexa-meshing-need-help.html)

cpd29 March 23, 2009 18:27

ICEM hexa meshing - need help!!

2 Attachment(s)
I am relatively new to ICEM tool and using it for my masters thesis. I am currently in the blocking step and have a difficult geometry feature that I don't know the best way to mesh. I want to use hexa-mesh but the mesh comes out poor quality. Any tips on how to mesh the indicated area (see attachment Attachment 78) would be greatly appreciated. I haven't used o-grids and not sure what those are...would it help? I have spent way too much time on this and desperately need some pointers and i havent seen many useful training tools out there.

Thanks!
Colleen

Attachment 78

Attachment 79

rikio March 24, 2009 01:57

Colleen,

It is a simple geometry to mesh in hex. O-grid should be used to improve quality, and high quality mesh is very easy to be obtained.
Regarding what are O-grid, please take a look at the documentation and tutorials. They will tell you what they are.

cpd29 March 24, 2009 10:08

If I show you what I have so far for meshing, would you be willing to give me pointers? I can send you a picture or the actual file.

Thanks
Colleen

rikio March 24, 2009 10:21

OK, I think it won't take much time to show you a solution. Just send me the .tin file.

pratikmehta March 24, 2009 10:24

Hi,
It seems not so difficiult to mesh this by blocking strategy, O grid surely help but before you need to try some blocking tutorial otherwise you willl spend too much time in just Hex blocking this one. I suggest you can also go for tet mesh with prism layers and see how are the results ,in the mean time you can try hex blocking this geometry .

Best of luck

cpd29 March 24, 2009 11:33

1 Attachment(s)