CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (
-   ANSYS (
-   -   [CFD-Post] Plotting Cp around a non horizontal airfoil (

Totize February 11, 2013 12:28

[CFD-Post] Plotting Cp around a non horizontal airfoil
Hello all :)

I am actually studying an airflow passing a simple 2D curved airfoil.
I want now to plot the Cp distribution alongside the upper and lower 2D lines of this profile vs its chord line.

I am using CFD-Post. So I polyline the 2 lines. Then I go to Chart, use the polylines for the data series. On Y Axis tab, of course I select "Pressure Coefficient" as the variable. But as you can see on the screenshot the chord line is rotated of 58 compared to the X axis. This detail blocks me because in Chart's X Axis tab I can only use "X", "Y" or "Z" which are the axis the default coordinates system.

I tried to create a new personalized coordinates system rotated of 58 compared to the default one, but it seems to be useless for my problem as I can't select this new X axis to plot my Cp distribution.

I tried to create a new variable for this new X, but with no success.

I'm sure it's possible to easily solve this "problem" as CFD-Post is quite an advanced post processing software.

Please can you give some advice for this ?

I would be really greatfull.

Have a nice day !

flotus1 February 11, 2013 13:17

Originally Posted by Totize (Post 407179)
I'm sure it's possible to easily solve this "problem" as CFD-Post is quite an advanced post processing software.

Copy that;)

I can only guess a few issues that got you into this trouble.
First of all, make sure that you selected "XY" as the type of the chart in the "general" tab.
Next thing would be that you should not use the drop down menu for picking your x-axis variable, but the small button labeled "..." to the right of it.
Here you have all the variables (more than in the drop down list) including the "Length".

Running out of ideas now...

Totize February 11, 2013 13:43