CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   CFX (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/cfx/)
-   -   Help with CFX-Solver Manager (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/cfx/72870-help-cfx-solver-manager.html)

DavidA February 19, 2010 23:26

Help with CFX-Solver Manager

Hey People,

I am a student trying to work on my Disso using CFX. I have a problem. Every time I have tried to run the solution in CFX Solver Manager, a windows message shows up saying

"solver-hpmpi.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close."

So I send the report, and CFX Solver Manager says,

" An error has occurred in cfx5solve:
The ANSYS CFX solver could not be started, or exited with return
code 255: . No results file has been created. "

This has happened everytime I have tried to run this simulation and its always on outer loop iteration = 2.

Please could you help me since time is getting really short and I need results.

The simulation I am trying to run is a rotor stator arrangement which is very similar to the one in the ansys tutorials.

HELP!!!

sans February 20, 2010 01:35

Hi,
Have you been able to run the tutorial problem?
I have got this error in the past for a variety of reasosn, could be mesh, setup etc. Try to debug one at a time. I would start with a remesh.

ghorrocks February 20, 2010 06:22

If it occurs on outer loop iteration 2 then it is a convergence problem. You need to improve the stability of your simulation - are your physics correct? Is the mesh of high enough quality? Is your time step small enough?

DavidA February 20, 2010 16:35

Thank you.

I tried to change a few of the details for this run, but now, I won't even start up.

As soon as I try to start the run, the same message is displayed and this time, it does no iterations....

Help, this is getting worse

zandi February 20, 2010 16:59