CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   CFX (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/cfx/)
-   -   cfd simulation of an uav (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/cfx/85695-cfd-simulation-uav.html)

prshet March 4, 2011 12:40

cfd simulation of an uav

i've been working on an uav model with a span of around 2m and fuselage lenght around 1m. the inlet velocity(as per the experimental results) is 21m/s.
the results for Cl are matching closely for lower angle of attack, but the problem is i'm not able to get the right stalling angle. i've generated an unstructured mesh(with prism layers) with around 1.2 million elements using ICEM. i've used k-omega turbulence model, also i've done an itterative convergence study for one case. also as a further part of my work i would like to carryout fluttering analysis for the wing, which needs moving mesh. as i'm new to this please suggest what work should i carry out further....?

ghorrocks March 6, 2011 18:12

Capturing the stall point is tricky. Have a look in the literature to find out how other simulation researchers do it. It is not my field so I do not know.

prshet March 7, 2011 01:08

ya i'm already working on it. i'm try now for a structured mesh, this will help me have a better control over the problem. but for analyzing a flutter problem for the airfoil i'll have to generate moving mesh. can you please suggest me on this, it would be really helpful.

Attesz March 7, 2011 08:10

Getting closer to the stall point the steady state results won't match with experimentals, because of transient effects (growing vortex shedding etc). Switching to transient solver can handle this problem. I would use adaptive time step to speed up the simulation.
In flutter I have no experience also, but this is good challenge in cfd :)

prshet March 8, 2011 08:56