CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   FLOW-3D (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/flow-3d/)
-   -   Vortex-induced Vibration (VIV) (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/flow-3d/102608-vortex-induced-vibration-viv.html)

ariza May 29, 2012 19:41

Vortex-induced Vibration (VIV)

hai guys.
I was a student last semester. I am currently working on final project with the topic of large-diameter cylinder viv in force due to currents and wave forces. I'm using a flow-3d for the simulation of vortex shedding. but until now I can not how.

whether there are any of you guys can help me? provide solutions or suggestions how?

thanks for the help.:)

hans_ina August 6, 2012 01:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by ariza (Post 363691)
hai guys.
I was a student last semester. I am currently working on final project with the topic of large-diameter cylinder viv in force due to currents and wave forces. I'm using a flow-3d for the simulation of vortex shedding. but until now I can not how.

whether there are any of you guys can help me? provide solutions or suggestions how?

thanks for the help.:)

Hi Ariza,

what you mean of VIV is vibration due current around cylinder? :)
can you specified your question about? its your problem on modelling or meshing or else? please specified.

Thanks,
Hans

ariza August 6, 2012 20:11

In my Case,
VIV occurs because the combination of currents and waves.
then, how steps to make simulation with Flow3D?
such as modelling, input, solution, output...

thx for your attention...

hans_ina August 6, 2012 21:23

For modeling, you can input the parameter (read manual handbook) then fill the BC with inlet and outlet as outflow.

Put the parameter and fill current and wave value (note: use free surface for input wave value)

hope this helpfull for your thesis. :)

ariza August 6, 2012 22:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by hans_ina (Post 375690)