CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   FLUENT (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/fluent/)
-   -   UDF problems (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/fluent/37805-udf-problems.html)

Paolo Lampitella September 6, 2005 12:44

UDF problems

Hi to everyone (sorry for my english) I'm having some problems with UDFs. The first is: what is a "parse error"? I already had this error for having too much variable declaration in the same row but now Fluent gives me the error for the line:

"c=a+b;" obviously i declared all the variables and defined the values for "a" and "b" so...i don't know how to proceed. The second one is about the threads: can i define, via UDF, a new cell thread specifing what are the cells that i want to put in it?

Thanks

Aykut September 6, 2005 13:09

Street Canyon msh file??

Hi everybody;

I am a master degree student and I have a thesis topic of "Simulation of a flow in a Street Canyon". So I am a new user of both Gambit and Fluent Softwares. My first aim is to create a 2D and then a 3D Street Canyon Geometry and to mesh it.2D seems easy but with 3D i have no clue. Soooo if any of you have a basic simple 3D street canyon model and share it with me I will be sooooo satisfied. Thanxx for your cooperation. Bye

Amir September 6, 2005 18:07

Re: UDF problems

it would helpful if you post your UDF here to have a look

Ahmed September 6, 2005 20:38

Re: UDF problems

the parser reads your c statements and converts them to the equivalent in machine language, if it is not a problem for you go again through the spelling especially the lines before this statment or if you have a C++ compiler (if you are using a UNIX or LINUX machine then it is the cc command, check your man command for details) then transfer the code and recompile it again, if there is a spelling error it will give you better error message and even the line number

Paolo Lampitella September 7, 2005 10:23

UDF problems 2