CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM Post-Processing (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-post-processing/)
-   -   TurbForce term in liftDrag utility (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-post-processing/61453-turbforce-term-liftdrag-utility.html)

kumar2 April 17, 2006 20:31

Hello I have a question on

Hello

I have a question on the turbForce term in the liftDrag.C (../src/postprocessing/incompressible/liftDrag/liftDrag.C ).

Laminar Flow
--------------
In the laminar case the drag is the pressure drag + x_component of the wall shear stress . although i am not an expert in C++ , i could make out that
-mu.value()*U.boundaryField()[patchLabel].snGrad()*mesh.magSf().boundaryField()[ patchLabel]

is approximately meu*velocityGradient*area . Am i correct ?

2. turbulent drag
--------------------
In turbulent flow the wall shear stress is (according to ferziger and peric) rho*(u_tau)^2.

which equals rho*(C_meu)^0.25*k*sqrt(k)*vel_parallel_wall/(ln(n+E))

But the formulation given in liftDrag.C is totally different . first the laminar drag is found out ( even in turbulent case ) . then the turbulent drag is found ( this does not at all resemble the expression given by say ferziger , peric). then these 2 are added.

could someone tell me why this procedure is adopted and where i am wrong ? i am stuck with my comparison.

thanks a lot

kumar

kumar2 April 18, 2006 14:42

Hello all, Could someone co

Hello all,

Could someone comment on this post ?

i am stuck with my results

thanks in advance

kumar

anja April 25, 2006 06:00

Hi kumar, I'm very sorry th

Hi kumar,

I'm very sorry that I can't help you, but maybe you can answer some of my questions?

- where do I get the mu field from?
- how do I have to change the code for a compressible fluid?
- where do I have to write the code?
- how can I actually use it?
- where do I find the results

thanks
Anja

hartinger April 25, 2006 08:04