CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM Pre-Processing (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-pre-processing/)
-   -   Modelling wave impacts on offshore simple structure (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-pre-processing/96090-modelling-wave-impacts-offshore-simple-structure.html)

hugh January 12, 2012 03:43

Modelling wave impacts on offshore simple structure

Hi there,

This is my first post so let me know if there is any more information that I need to let you know.

I'll start by saying that I am completely new to modelling so please excuse my lack of knowledge in this field. I am currently trying to model un-extreme wave impacts on offshore structures using fluid dynamic equations. I am not really sure what kind of variation on linear wave theory I should be using.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks Hugh

botp January 13, 2012 10:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by hugh (Post 338950)
Hi there,

This is my first post so let me know if there is any more information that I need to let you know.

I'll start by saying that I am completely new to modelling so please excuse my lack of knowledge in this field. I am currently trying to model un-extreme wave impacts on offshore structures using fluid dynamic equations. I am not really sure what kind of variation on linear wave theory I should be using.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks Hugh

Hi and welcome to the forum!

When it comes to modelling free surface flows in OpenFoam I would strongly suggest you have look at the waves2Foam utility http://openfoamwiki.net/index.php/Contrib/waves2Foam . I have had great success using the utility for calculating hydrodynamic forces on a circular cylinder from both stream function waves and fully nonlinear irregular waves. The utility comes with at wide range of wave theories; so, have a look at the possibilities and choose the one that suits your application best.