CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM Running, Solving & CFD (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-solving/)
-   -   Add time dependent Source term (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-solving/80298-add-time-dependent-source-term.html)

libe September 22, 2010 03:54

Add time dependent Source term

Hello guys,
I am new in OpenFoam and I face several difficulties. I have followed the advice of Henrik for new openfoamers _ http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/ope...gramming.html_ but still i cant find how to add in my model a new source term! I want to add the term
Source = A * cos(f * t)
I tried the following

while (runTime.loop())
{
Info<< "Time = " << runTime.timeName() << nl << endl;

Source = A* Foam::cos(f * runTime.time().value());

but nothing

and after the

At creatFields.H

volScalarField Source
(
"Source",
A* Foam::cos(f * runTime.time().value())
);

but nothing again...
I know its something very simple but I cant understand what I am missing!
Please help!
Thanks

akidess September 22, 2010 05:30

It sounds like you managed to create a source field, but you didn't include it in any equation.

libe September 22, 2010 06:32

Hello akidess for ur interest,
the system of equations that i try to solve is the following

while (runTime.loop())
{
Info<< "Time = " << runTime.timeName() << nl << endl;

// #include "readPISOControls.H"
// #include "CourantNo.H"

Source = A* Foam::cos(f * runTime.time().value());

tmp<fvVectorMatrix> EEqn
(
epsilon0*fvm::ddt(E)==fvc::curl(H)

);
// EEqn().relax();
EEqn().solve();

tmp<fvVectorMatrix> HEqn
(
mu*fvm::ddt(H)== -fvc::curl(E)+Source

);
// HEqn().relax();
HEqn().solve();

The transient form of Maxwell equations. When I put the Source term there are compiler's error. Is there any manual or something for general treatment of source terms?

akidess September 22, 2010 06:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by libe (Post 276127)
Code: