CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam/)
-   -   subsonic Airfoil Flow (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam/67382-subsonic-airfoil-flow.html)

husker August 13, 2009 09:33

subsonic Airfoil Flow

1 Attachment(s)
Hi to everyone,

I am studying on the flow around an airfoil at U=43 m/s and Reynolds=3E6.

I executed sonicFOAM NACA Airfoil tutorial for an example.

After I have read the User Guide, I understand that simpleFOAM can be used on steady-state laminar or turbulent problems. I activated the turbulence term and RANS model k-epsilon. The modified simpleFOAM files according to this problem are attached to this threat.

The problem is that the U, p contours are fully wrong as well as the coefficients of lift and drag.

I would like to hear some advices.

Regards,

husker September 8, 2009 09:45

subsonic airfoil flow

hmm 85 views and no reply :(

Can anybody post an airfoil/wing subsonic flow tutorial with the FOAM files?

I think this may help many openFOAM beginners.

husker September 10, 2009 04:21

subsonic airfoil flow

Hmmm why can't i take any reply or comments?
Is it an hard question?

mkraposhin September 10, 2009 15:14

Can you post plots?

walex September 14, 2009 07:21

Hi,

is your solution converged? How many iterations did you run? Are your Cd and Cl values still changing?

I also have problems to get the right forces. But my cp plot looks quite ok.

Alex

husker September 15, 2009 07:31

Hi,

My solution never converges; Cd and Cl values change in a wide range interval.

I use "libforces.so" in order to print Cd, Cl and Cm. So I hope it is enough to give only directions to calculate the forces correctly.

Can you please upload your FOAM files Walex? If you don't prefer uploading, could you please write about your solver, BCs and mesh details.