CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam/)
-   -   Questions about tutorial from User Guide :confused: (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam/76424-questions-about-tutorial-user-guide-confused.html)

inginer May 25, 2010 10:50

Questions about tutorial from User Guide :confused:

:confused:
Hello,

I'm very new in OpenFOAM and i already have a lot of problems in running the first tutorial. I manage to install OF 1.6 on a Suse distribution, 32 bits(my conection is to a server,VNC).
After i copy all the tutorials on a separated file, i try to run "cavity". I did all the steps from the user guide and after I run the "blockMesh" comand, i want it to see the mesh with paraview and i could saw it. WHY? also, it wasn't created any cavity.openFOAM file.

i went to the next step to run the analysis, by typing "icoFoam". it mayed the analysis, but still it any cavity.openFOAM (cavity.foam) file wasn't created it. WHY?

I try to run other simple cases, like "cylinder", from potentialFOAM directory, but i had the same problem like at the first one. also, when i typing "icoFoam" comand i receive this error:

// * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * //
Create time

Create mesh for time = 0

Reading transportProperties

cannot open file

file: /root/OpenFOAM/run/tutorials/basic/potentialFoam/cylinder/constant/transportProperties at line 0.

From function regIOobject::readStream()
in file db/regIOobject/regIOobjectRead.C at line 62.

FOAM exiting
//***********//

The same error apear for other cases that i want it to run.

Can somebody give me some advices or answers???

Thk you,
Best regards,
Ovidiu

alberto May 25, 2010 11:46

It seems it just doesn't find the transportProperties file.

How do you try to run paraview and from where (you have to be inside the case directory or specify the path with the command line options)?