CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam/)
-   -   Simulation of bubble plumes (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam/81941-simulation-bubble-plumes.html)

jolync November 11, 2010 08:07

Simulation of bubble plumes

Hi all,

May I know if anyone has done simulation for bubble plume using OpenFOAM before? Could you kindly share the file for guidance as I'm totally new to OpenFOAM..

Questions:
How to set the boundary and initial conditions?
Which solver should we use in specific?

Thank you! :)

FG_HSRM November 11, 2010 08:46

Hello Jolync,
a good starting point are the user's and programmer's guide, there you will surely learn to handle your first problems.
OF includes a whole bunch of tutorials, also multiphase flow solvers; interFoam, interDyMFoam, and bubbleFoam (one of this, might be useful for you).
Rergards
fritz

l_r_mcglashan November 11, 2010 08:54

Are you looking to model the dispersed phase in an Eulerian or Lagrangian way?

People have published work on gas-liquid bubble columns using OpenFOAM. Do a quick google search.

jolync November 11, 2010 09:15

Hi Freidrich,

Yup, I've gone through the user guide. But I still don't know how to make use of the multiphase - twophaseEuler solver to get started with the simulation. Hence, the post for help.
Thank you :)

jolync November 11, 2010 09:20

Hi Laurence,

I think its the Eulerian method. I tried looking, but haven't found materials that are really helpful. Shall look into it again.
Thanks! :)

l_r_mcglashan November 11, 2010 09:33

Sorry, I'm not being helpful:

Selma

Silva

Those should get you rolling on the implementation side. And of course don't forget Henrik Rusche's thesis.

FG_HSRM November 11, 2010 09:33

I'm not used to the solver, but what exactly is your problem?