CFD Online Logo CFD Online URL
www.cfd-online.com
[Sponsors]
Home > Forums > OpenFOAM

how to get parabolic velocity distribution in a channel?

Register Blogs Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old   July 29, 2011, 20:42
Default how to get parabolic velocity distribution in a channel?

Roland
F1r3 is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I am new to openfoam and I want to simulate a channel flow with simpleFoam. The simulation runs but i have no parabolic velocity distribution when I look at my results. It seems that everywhere is the same velocity. I want to use the kOmegaSST model.

I'm searching in this forum but I didn't find a similar problem.
Could anybody help me please?

Here are my case folder and pictures of the velocity and pressure of my channel.

greetz Roland
Attached Images
File Type: jpg velocity.jpg (55.1 KB, 105 views)
File Type: jpg pressure.jpg (82.3 KB, 68 views)
Attached Files
File Type: gz Kanal.tar.gz (2.6 KB, 27 views)
F1r3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   July 30, 2011, 04:38

Amir
Amir is on a distinguished road
Dear Roland,

you are using turbulent model and in turbulent flow the velocity profile is not parabolic. (it's not laminar)
Indeed, your velocity magnitude is very high, consequently, you achieved small boundary layer. Also, to reach such profiles, the flow has to be fully developed.

Amir

Last edited by Amir; July 30, 2011 at 07:26.
Amir is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   July 30, 2011, 08:10

Roland
Hi Amir,

thanks for your reply.
So the kOmegaSST model is only for turbulent flow. When I change it to laminar I would get a parabolic velocity? Our could you tell me what to change in my case to reach a parabolic velocity? I've tried a simulation with a laminar model and set in the RASProperties turbulence to off but I don't reach a parabolic velocity. Furthermore I made my channel longer so that the flow can fully develop.
To your information I've never worked with CFD before...