CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   STAR-CCM+ (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/star-ccm/)
-   -   help with command line in parallel simulation (http://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/star-ccm/82936-help-command-line-parallel-simulation.html)

ernest December 9, 2010 10:39

help with command line in parallel simulation

Hi,
first of all sorry for my English because I'm Italian.
I'm a Mechanical Engineering student and I'm working with ccm+ for my graduation thesis. I have some problems in starting the simulation on a cluster. I started my work with the 5.04.008 version and I had no problems with the command line, in fact the syntax I used was: starccm+ -batch macro_file.java -machinefile hosts.txt -np 4 simulation.sim. Now I'm working with a new version (5.06.007) and I can't launch the simulation on the cluster, in fact using the same command line of the previous version I take an error: File not found simulation.sim (specify -new to create the file). My operating system is Linux.
Can somebody tell me where I mistake???
Thanks

Nikhil Kumar December 9, 2010 13:26

I think If you select the parallel option when you open or start a new simulation and specify the no of processors that you are using. The command line is specified by default. Atleast this happens with me. I am also using red hat linux.

ernest December 10, 2010 06:05

I use a software (modeFrontier) that by means of geometry changes optimizes simulation results, so i have to create a script in modeFrontier to launch ccm+ on the cluster everytime the optimizator completes a geometry change. hence I'm sorry but your solution can't help me to solve my problem.

MFitl December 13, 2010 04:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by ernest (Post 286707)
[...]
in fact the syntax I used was: starccm+ -batch macro_file.java -machinefile hosts.txt -np 4 simulation.sim.
[...]
I take an error: File not found simulation.sim (specify -new to create the file).
[...]

Hi,