CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   Fluent UDF and Scheme Programming (https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/fluent-udf/)
-   -   Mass flow rate defined by velocity function and inlet area (https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/fluent-udf/156977-mass-flow-rate-defined-velocity-function-inlet-area.html)

saml July 16, 2015 11:26

Mass flow rate defined by velocity function and inlet area

Hi,

Apologies if this questions has been asked, I can't find the solution I'm looking for. I'm new to using Fluent. I am trying to figure out how to get a UDF working where a defined velocity and density is given and then mass flow rate is calculated dependent on the inlet surface area. As an example, the velocity profile is given here https://confluence.cornell.edu/pages...geId=268895958

If I change the variable, totalarea to a value that I have calculated manually, the resultant measured velocity is as expected.
It appears that the problem is in the totalarea += NV_MAG(area), it does not output the correct inlet surface area. Not sure what I'm missing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#include "udf.h"
#define PI 3.141592654

#define bloodrho 1060

real area[ND_ND];
real totalarea=0.0;

DEFINE_PROFILE(inlet_massflowrate,th,i)
{
{
face_t f;
double t = (CURRENT_TIME*2-floor(CURRENT_TIME*2))/2;
begin_f_loop(f,th)
{
F_AREA(area,f,th);
totalarea += NV_MAG(area);
printf("Area= %d\n",totalarea);
if(t <= 0.218)
F_PROFILE(f,th,i) = bloodrho*(0.5*sin(4*PI*(t+0.0160236)))*totalarea;
else
F_PROFILE(f,th,i) = bloodrho*0.1*totalarea;
}
end_f_loop(f,th);
}
}

Thanks!

Kokemoor July 16, 2015 13:17

You'll need to have two loops to do this: one to calculate the total area, then a second to set the profile. Doing it in one loop means that the profile is being set the with the area computed so far, not the actual total area.