Solidification model of binary alloy in Ansys 14.5

Register Blogs Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old   December 30, 2013, 13:46
Question Solidification model of binary alloy in Ansys 14.5

Bartek
BK90 is on a distinguished road
Dear Users,

I have to do little project on my studies, which is solidification model (2d with macrosegregation) of binary alloy (Pb 48-Sn) in Ansys 14.5 but i am new with ansys and i am bit stuck with it.

I read user`s and theory guide in ansys help about solidification modeling. All data are from articles (Prescott, Ahmad).
I enabled models: species transport, solidification/melting with thermal/solutal bouyancy and Lever rule. Mushy zone parameter was calculated with formula: A=(180*u)/k^2, where u=dynamic viscosity and k=secondary dendrite arm spacing.
In material properties i added pb,sn and mixture template properties:
for pb-molecular weight,slope of liquidus,partition coefficient(0.48), eutectic mass fraction (0.619), solutal expansion coefficient and 0for diffusion in solid.
for sn-molecular weight, 0 for slope of liquidius solutal expansion coefficient and diffusion in solid,partition coefficient, 1 for eutectioc mass fraction(default).
For mixture: density(9000 and default method is boussinesq),specific heat, thermal conductivity,viscosity, mass diffusivity,thermal expansion coefficient,puere solvent melting heat, solidus and liquidus temperature(mixing law),pure solvent melting temperature, eutectic temperature.
In operating conditions i enabled gravity and operating temperature (600,65K- melting temperature).
In cell conditions for surface-body is enabled porous zone for mixture and i didn`t change any of its parameters. It was default.

Boundary conditions:
Left wall is for cooling alloy and other 3 walls are adiabatic. For left wall i enabled convection and added heat trandfer coefficient and free stream temperature.