Home > Forums > Software User Forums > ANSYS > FLUENT

Vortex Tube flow simulation in Fluent

Register Blogs Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old   November 9, 2018, 15:02
Default Vortex Tube flow simulation in Fluent

CFDguy11 is on a distinguished road
Hey everyone!

New to this forum but it has been an invaluable resource so I'm really glad that it exists!

I am a university student trying to model the flow in a Ranque-Hilsch vortex tube and have been able to successfully obtain the vortex flow behaviour (see attached picture).

However, I am not able to see a proper temperature/heat exchange between outer and inner vortices take place, as a result I'm not able to get a temperature difference at the Hot and Cold end. A contour plot of the tube at its midpoint doesn't really show any heat transfer taking place...

Does this have to do with setting a Backflow temperature for Hot and Cold outlets? I am using the K-e model with Viscous heating, compressibility effects and pressure gradient effects enabled.

Looking forward to your input, I would be happy to provide any additional information. Thank you so much!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Forward and Reverse Flow_Updated.jpg (62.6 KB, 44 views)
CFDguy11 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   November 12, 2018, 14:30

Lucky Tran
LuckyTran has a spectacular aura aboutLuckyTran has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFDguy11 View Post
I am using the K-e model with Viscous heating, compressibility effects and pressure gradient effects enabled.

Note that you probably do not need compressibility effects or pressure gradient effects because these options are for the turbulence model. The vortex tube can work even in a totally laminar flow, it really has nothing to do with turbulence.

Make sure you are using a compressible equation of state (i.e. ideal gas) and not constant density of temperature dependent density.