CFD Online Discussion Forums

CFD Online Discussion Forums (https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/)
-   OpenFOAM Programming & Development (https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-programming-development/)
-   -   Calculate distance from vol to patch cells (https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openfoam-programming-development/218132-calculate-distance-vol-patch-cells.html)

landau June 10, 2019 06:31

Calculate distance from vol to patch cells

Hello!

I'm a very beginner in OpenFoam programming, and I would like to ask the community some help with an issue I have not been able to find any information of in this forum, or even in google.

First of all I am modelling the wind over complex terrain. I have introduced some source terms in the equations that depend on the vertical coordinate. The problem is that I need to fix the reference for the z coordinate over the ground and not over the plane z=0. Therefore I need to subtract from every cell z coordinate in the volume mesh the corresponding height of the coincident (x,y) point of the ground.

I have think of the function Foam:patchWave::patchWave().distance()

For this reason I've used (I don't think that properly) this function as follows:
Code:

label patchID = mesh.boundaryMesh().findPatchID("terrain");
scalarField d;//distances are stored in this variable
patchWave w(mesh, patchID, true);
d = w.distance();

The only distance it has computed is a negative one:
Code:

204901{-1e+15}
and obviously it gives an error but I do not know why.

Thank you in advance.

Héctor

clapointe June 10, 2019 07:11

Have you looked into wallDist (https://github.com/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM...ist/wallDist.H)? It should be what you need.

Caelan

landau June 10, 2019 07:21

Thank you so much for your suggestion. The fact is that I saw this function but I didn't know how to extract a new volScalarField from the function wallDist. Could you guide me a little?