CFD Online Logo CFD Online URL
www.cfd-online.com
[Sponsors]
Home > Forums > Software User Forums > ANSYS > FLUENT > Fluent Multiphase

get-thread: invalid thread id (integer) or name (symbol)

Register Blogs Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old   March 2, 2020, 09:46
Unhappy get-thread: invalid thread id (integer) or name (symbol)
  #1
Member
 
Raj
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 55
Rep Power: 2
Rajkool is on a distinguished road
Hello All,

I am new to CFD. But, everything was going a bit hard and good in progress, until I had an error occurred as you can see in Title

"Error: get-thread: invalid thread id (integer) or name (symbol)
Error Object: #f"

After this everything changed my boundary and zone conditions are destroyed or deleted. I do not understand, how to get them back.

Please help me guys, I'm totally lost.

Thank you
Kolkundi Rajesh
Rajkool is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   March 2, 2020, 10:51
Default Workbench
  #2
Senior Member
 
vinerm's Avatar
 
Vinerm
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nederland
Posts: 1,305
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 21
vinerm is on a distinguished road
It appears you are using Fluent from within Workbench and you made certain changes either at CAD level or Meshing. This is a very generic error pointing to the problem of unavailability of certain data, could be missing or changed names of zones. More details about the case and the process leading to this error would be required to resolve it.
__________________
Regards,
Vinerm

PM to be used if and only if you do not want something to be shared on the Forum
vinerm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   March 3, 2020, 06:18
Default
  #3
Member
 
Raj
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 55
Rep Power: 2
Rajkool is on a distinguished road
Hello Vinerm,

You are absolutely correct.

We needed to change the names and did certain corrections for the axes of the two parts to align the geometry.

Even though the simulation was successful, later I tried to add pathlines for the model in fluent.

After this process, I found the error. I hope, I could make some sense. Sorry if my explanation is bad. Please let me know if you need any information for help.

Thank you
Raj
Rajkool is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   March 3, 2020, 06:27
Default Suggestion
  #4
Senior Member
 
vinerm's Avatar
 
Vinerm
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nederland
Posts: 1,305
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 21
vinerm is on a distinguished road
My only suggestion would be to NOT use Fluent within the Workbench until and unless you have a requirement that can only be done inside WB, such as, parametric study or FSI.

Since the Fluent never receives the geometric model, it does not come to know about any changes made at DM or SCDM level. Only when the changes made at the Meshing level are inconsistent, Fluent starts getting into issues like this. If you ensure that the names of the bodies and boundaries are maintained in Meshing, then Fluent will not given any issue even if the model is changed drastically. However, after the changes, simulation needs to be rerun.

I would recommend exporting mesh file from Ansys Meshing and then use Fluent outside WB, i.e., start from terminal (if using Linux) or from Start Menu (in Windows). Select the appropriate options in the Launcher, such as 2D or 3D, Serial or Parallel, etc. and then run the simulation.
__________________
Regards,
Vinerm

PM to be used if and only if you do not want something to be shared on the Forum
vinerm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old   March 3, 2020, 06:34
Thumbs up
  #5
Member
 
Raj
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 55
Rep Power: 2
Rajkool is on a distinguished road
Hello Vinerm,

Thank you for your suggestion.

I will take your opinion into consideration and try again.

Thanks for your time.
Raj
Rajkool is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
udf problem jane Fluent UDF and Scheme Programming 37 February 20, 2018 04:17
Pressure outlet boundary condition rolando OpenFOAM Running, Solving & CFD 62 September 18, 2017 06:45
Error in compiling new drag model k.farnagh OpenFOAM Programming & Development 13 May 21, 2016 03:08
Problems building Paraview 3.12 on Gentoo Linux pajot OpenFOAM Installation 11 April 11, 2013 08:09
Error: domain-thread-integrals: invalid thread per FLUENT 0 March 29, 2008 03:40


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:22.